Like other units under Division of Natural and Social Sciences (DNSS). Physics unit was offering common courses to the students in the College of Agriculture. However, following the establishment of Faculty of Education (FOE), the unit was reorganized as the department to conferee B.Ed. degree.

Accordingly, in 1996, the department of Physics launched a four year B.Ed. undergraduate program to train students in Physics Education. In this regard, the Physics Department was instrumental in producing vibrant physics teachers who are well equipped to meet the country’s demands. In 2003, following the national teacher education reform, the Department adopted the three year B.Ed. degree program. As of 2008, it implemented nationally harmonized and modularized curriculum in Applied Science as a three year B.Sc. degree program. Following national curriculum reform in 2019, the Department implemented yet the new four year B.Sc. Program.

 In 2008, the Physics Department launched its first postgraduate programs: Master of Science (M.Sc.) and Master of Education (M.Ed.). Currently, the Department runs Masters programs in three streams: Computational Physics, Environmental Physics and Quantum Physics. The Department hit yet another milestone in 2017 by opening its first Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) program in two streams which are Environmental Physics and Renewable Energy Physics.