Department of Mathematics


About the Department

When the Faculty of Education came into existence in 1985/86 as a unit in Alemaya University, the Department of Mathematics started offering courses leading to the B.Sc degree in Mathematics.
After ten years the Faculty of Education was then organized and started offering four – year courses leading to the B.Ed degree. One of the departments established under the new system was the Department of Mathematics. Finally College of Natural and Computational Sciences was organized into five departments offering three – year courses leading to the B.Sc degree. Since then the Department of Mathematics has grown considerably to become one of the largest departments in the University, offering many courses.

Program Structure: