School of Public Health


Background of School of Public Health

School of Public Health was established 1996 as Department of Public Health along with the establishment of Faculty of Health. Since then it has played a crucial role in graduating competent public health workforce that actively engage in diseases prevention and treatment, educational programs (capacity building), policies development, services administration, research, and regulatory services locally and internationally. The department has history of bringing new insights and innovative solutions to community health problems. Consequently, community engagements in the form of learning, clinical services and Community Health Practice are among critical interaction points for members of the community and students.

Department of public health started by offering BSc degree is bedrock of a College of Health and Medical Sciences (CHMS). By signing bilateral agreement with Addis Continental Institute of Public Health (ACIPH) in 2008, the department has magnificently expanded to give masters and PhD degrees in the area of public health. Consequently, in 2016, the department upgraded itself to School of Public Health. Currently, the School runs various programs like: Bachelor of Science in Public Health, Masters of Public Health in Epidemiology, Field Epidemiology, General Public Health, Reproductive Health, Public Health Nutrition, Health service Management and PhD in public Health. All these programs were restructured under three departments (Programs):  namely Public Health and Management, Public Health Nutrition and Reproductive Health, and Epidemiology and Biostatistics. The modes of course delivery are regular for undergraduate and PhD; both regular and summer in service for masters programs.

So far 2,497 undergraduate, 412 masters and 10 PhD students has been graduated from the School/department. Currently, (2016/17 academic calendar), 205 under graduate, 211 masters and 15 PhD students are following their studies under the school.