Continuing and Summer Postgraduate Education Program


The Continuing & Summer Postgraduate Program was opened in 2003/04(1996 E.C.). Currently the program is running continuing postgraduate education at 4 centers namely Harar, Dire Dawa, Chiro, and Jigjiga delivering education in four fields of specialization.

  1. Agricultural Economics
  2.  Agricultural Economics and Rural Development
  3.  Educational Leadership & Management
  4. Sociology.

The CSPEP also runs 47 summer postgraduate education programs of 17 Schools/Departments of different colleges of Haramaya University. There are listed as the following

  1. School of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Agricultural Marketing
  1. School  of Animal  and Range Sciences
    • Animal Production
    • Animal Genetics and Breeding
    • Animal Nutrition
    • Rangeland Ecology & Management
    • Dairy Sciences


  1.  School of Plant Sciences
    • Agronomy
    • Agricultural Entomology
    • Integrated Pest Management
    • Plant Pathology
    • Weed Science
    • Horticulture
    • Seed Science and Technology
    • Plant Breeding
  2. School of Natural Resources Management and Environmental Sciences
    • Soil Sciences
    • Irrigation Agronomy


  1. School of Natural Resources and Environmental Engineering
    • Soil and Water Conservation Engineering
    • Irrigation Engineering
  2. School of Food Science,  Postharvest Technology  and Process Engineering
    • Food Science & Technology
    • Post-Harvest Technology
    • Food Engineering
  3.    Department of Rural Development and Agricultural Extension
    • Rural Development
    • Agricultural Communication and Innovation Development


  1. Department of Biology


  • Applied Biology
  • Biology
  • Biotechnology
  • Genetics
  • Microbiology
  1.  Department of Chemistry
    • Analytical Chemistry
    • Inorganic Chemistry
    • Organic Chemistry
    • Physical Chemistry
  2.  Department of Mathematics
    • Differential Mathematics
    • Numerical Mathematics
    • Optimization Mathematics
  3.  Department of Physics


  • Environmental Physics
  • Nano-Scale Physics
  • Computational Physics
  • Applied Quantum Physics
  • Quantum Field Theory


  1. Department of Sport Sciences
    • Coaching and Therapy Sciences
    • Teaching Physical Education
  2. Department of Geography and Environmental Studies
    • Environment and Land Resource Management
    • Urban and Regional Development Planning
  3.  School of Foreign Language Studies
  • Teaching English as Foreign Language

15. Department of Educational Planning and Management

  • Educational Leadership and Management

16. Department of Sociology

  • Sociology

17. Department of Information Sciences

  • Information Sciences

18. College of Veterinary Medicine

  • Veterinary Public Health
  • Veterinary Epidemiology

From the period 2009 to 2013 more than 600 graduates complete their post graduate under continuing and Summer Postgraduate Programs. In 2012/13 A.Y. alone more   500 and 1180 students were enrolled  in continuing and  summer post graduate education programs respectively .The Program has a plan to expand its service by encouraging schools and departments to open new programs or field of studies.


Past Five Years student Enrollment Profiles under Continuing and summer post graduate Education program.